top of page
A Trip, A Tryst and A Terror

Adventures in the Glade

Spending the summer at Grandpa Will’s farm with his family is the last thing ten-year-old Davy Murray wants.  How will he survive without his friends, the pool, and his computer?  There isn’t even a television at Grandpa’s house!  Doesn’t anyone see how miserable he will be?

In his frustration, Davy turns his anger on his mother, Kate, his sister, Anna, and, especially, his step-father, Jim.  Davy is determined to make their summer as dismal and disappointing as he believes his will be.  But, then, Davy has a most surprising and unexpected encounter . . . one which will change his heart, and his world, forever.  Let the 'Glade Trilogy' and 'Adventures in the Glade' draw you in.

Martha Jane Orlando

Children in the Garden
The Moment of Truth

Kindle, Nook and Paperback - join the adventure today!

Book 1
Book 2
Book 3
Book 4
Book 5
Book 6

To read Martha Jane Orlando’s “The Glade” is to step into a kind of contemporary Narnia – without having to walk through the wardrobe. Davy, a ten-year-old boy at war with the world and himself, becomes “The Chosen” – and his life begins to be transformed, with the help of a wise owl and a talking squirrel. But, being chosen entails responsibilities and even danger. Orlando may have written a children's story that is a metaphor for salvation and faith, but it is also a story that resonates with adults, too.
-- Glynn Young, author of Dancing Priest, A Light Shining and Poetry at Work

Martha Jane Orlando has skillfully created an Aesopian world where magic and morals collide, resulting in an inspirational read.  The Glade is beautifully written, heartfelt and engaging.

-- Leah Griffith, author of Cosette’s Tribe

The Glade  takes you to a wonderful place where Southern history, real time drama and a little bit of magic come together and change lives. Regardless of your age or background, The Glade will transport you into the world of Davy and hold you there making you hungry for more."

-- Mimi Moseley, author of Arm Around Shoulder/Hand Over Mouth

Martha Orlando is a wonderful storyteller and a natural writer. Full of heartfelt emotion, fully realized characters, and rich imagery, her stories warm the heart and soul like few others I have had the pleasure to read. Highly recommended.

-- Mark Lemon, author of The Illustrated Alamo 1836: A Photographic Journey and co-author of 13: The Alamo Book of Days

Children in the Garden is an inventive, stand-alone novel for young adults. It is also the centerpiece work of the Glade Trilogy.  Adult readers will enjoy reliving special moments from the past and younger readers will be inspired to keep a special place in their hearts for their own'good old days.'

-- F.C. Etier, author of The Presidents Club, a serial novel


Best to Read in Order
bottom of page